Location : Home > About BMS > Brief Introduction

Envisioning 2030 

The history of Basic Medical school of Zhejiang University can be traced back to the Chekiang Provincial College of Medicine founded in 1912 and the National Chekiang University Medicine College founded in 1945. In 1998 it was merged with Zhejiang University, Hangzhou University and Zhejiang Agriculture University to re-establish the present Zhejiang University, and reorganize School of Basic Medicine in the following year. In 2009, school of basic Medicine was upgraded to middle level organizational system of Zhejiang University, and officially changed its name to Zhejiang University School of basic Medical sciences. Currently, our school has a large number of talented faculties including one academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences, seven specialists who are entitled to special allowance from the state council, one candidate of the new century "Hundred, Thousand and Ten Thousand Talents Project" in China, five candidates of Trans-Century Training Programme Foundation for the Talents by the Ministry of Education, two young and middle-aged specialists with outstanding contributions in Zhejiang Province, one outstanding teacher of Zhejiang province as well as 82 professors and associated professors.

Under the leadership of Zhejiang university school of medicine, our school attach huge importance to basic science and its combination with clinical on transnational medicine. In order to optimize the talents and resources, we established the "discipline department" system which combines the scientific research system and the Teaching System and its central characteristic is to establish the PI (Principal Investigator) system.

At present, our school has eight departments and one experimental teaching center. It has set up basic medicine, clinical medicine, pharmacy primary discipline and biology for doctorate degree and one basic medicine mobile post-doctorate program. The doctorate programs cover human Anatomy and histoembryology, immunology, pathology, pathologic physiology, pathogenic microbiology, medical jurisprudence, physiology, neurobiology, cell biology, genetics, biochemistry and molecular biology and pharmacology. pathology and pathologic physiology are the national key disciplines, while physiology, pharmacology and immunology are the provincial key disciplines.

Our school not only focuses on the discipline construction, but also pays much attention to the research development and the personnel training. Five research center including Neuroscience, Tumor, Infections and Immunity, Stem Cell Biology & Regenerative Medicine, Molecular Medicine. Neurobiology is the Key Laboratory of the Ministry of Health,and Respiratory Drugs Research Laboratory is the State Key Laboratory of Food and Drug Administration and Disease Proteomics belongs to Provincial Key Laboratory. Under the support of the college, the research conditions and equipments of our school has reached world-level covering an area of 30,000 square meters while the equipments are up to 2 hundred million RMB.

The researchers of our school closely follows the international trade of biomedical field in basic and translational research, especially in oncology, metabolic syndrome, neuroscience and mental illness, medical molecular biology, stem cell and regenerative medicine and genetic areas such as genomics. Since the "Tenth Five-Year Plan", our school has assumed more than 100 national and provincial key program of different projects as "973 Project", "National key scientific and technological project", “key projects in the national science & technology pillar program during the eleventh five-year plan period”, “China National Funds for Distinguished Young Scientists”, “The National Natural Science Foundation of China " ect. 483 papers have been published in SCI, including well-known in international academic journals such as Nature Med, Blood, PNAS and so on.

Being the main part of medical teaching in ZJU, our school consists of 15 course teams which covers Basic medicine, clinical medicine, oral medicine, preventive medicine, health management, pharmacy and nursing. "Physiology"“pathology”and" Experimental Course of Physiological Sciences " are the National Superior Courses while "physiology" belongs to the National network superior courses. And "physiology", "pathology", " Experimental Course of Physiological Sciences ", "Basic medical integrated curriculum", " histoembryology " are the provincial superior courses. And the experimental teaching center of our school is Provincial experimental teaching demonstration centers as well.

In 1996, approved by the education ministry, our school has constructed Basic medical base on a trial basis. In the following year, the first "base students" were enrolled. Our objective of establishing this base is to train excellent students for basic medical research. We attached great importance to the overall qualities and innovation abilities of students. In 2005, our school was officially approved as "National basic scientific research and teaching personnel training base". Currently, our school has enrolled 346 students(323 of which are graduated students).Three students we traineded have been nominated in the National Excellent Doctoral Dissertation and one of them has won the prize. Our school also undertakes self-examination, adult education, and national health management division of vocational training and Medicine.

Ushering in the new century, our school will adhere to the hundred years' spirit of "Faith of Truth", promote the soul of fostering talents elaborately of "Zhejiang university of Medical school", determined to explore the unsolved health problems and take the responsibility of passing medical knowledge. Our Motto is to pursue the excellence, promote the talents and perfect our future!